Fair Housing Act

  1. Fair Housing Act
  2. Fair Housing Resources
  3. Fair Housing Services

Title VIII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968 (Fair Housing Act), as amended, prohibits discrimination in the sale, rental, and financing of dwellings, and in other housing-related transactions, based on race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status (including children under the age of 18 living with parents or legal custodians, pregnant women, and people securing custody of children under the age of 18), and disability.

The Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination in home sales, financing, and rentals based on race, color, religion, sex or national origin. Federal fair housing law, which extends to Ohio, protects apartment dwellers' right to enjoy access to housing based on seven protected classes. They include:

  • Race
  • Color
  • Religion
  • Sex
  • Familial Status (having a minimum of one child under the age of 18)
  • Ancestry
  • Disability
  • National Origin
  • Military Status

The City of Hamilton strives to promote and ensure equal housing opportunities to all City of Hamilton residents through its continued commitment to CDBG funding.

You may contact the City's Fair Housing Specialist at (513) 785-7024, with any tenant/landlord, fair housing related questions, or concerns to receive detailed information about fair housing services for the City.