Electric System Awards

American Public Power Association (APPA) Reliable Public Power Provider (RP3®) Platinum Designation 

The City of Hamilton Electric Department has been awarded the Reliable Public Power Provider (RP3®) Platinum Designation through the APPA since 2006. The City was most recently awarded the RP3® Platinum Designation in 2014. This current designation is valid for three years, from May 1, 2014 to April 30, 2017. Only 83 out of more than 2,000 municipal electric systems in the United States currently hold this designation. 
RP3 Logo
The RP3® Platinum Designation recognizes public power utilities that demonstrate proficiency in four key disciplines: reliability, safety, workforce development, and system improvement. Criteria within each category are based on sound business practices and represent a utility-wide commitment to safe and reliable electric service. According to the APPA, public utilities receiving the RP3® Platinum Designation exemplify the highest standard of utility operations, and are leading the way in providing reliable and safe electric service to their communities.

Other Awards
  • 2015 AMP Environmental Stewardship Award (2015 Arbor Day tree planting)
  • 2015 AMP Transmission/Distribution Safety Commendation
  • 2015 AMP Safety Award (Power Plant operation)
  • 2015 AMP System Improvement Award (Third Street utility improvements)
  • 2015 AMP Public Power Promotion Award (2014 Public Energy Week)
  • 2013 Cincinnati Business Courier Green Business Award Finalist (hydroelectric portfolio)
  • 2013 Greater Cincinnati Earth Coalition Earth Day Environmental Award (hydroelectric portfolio)
  • 2013 Greater Hamilton Safety Council Officer’s Award (Best non-industrial safety award)
  • 2012 AMP Environmental Stewardship Award (Plug-in hybrid electric bucket trucks)
  • 2012 AMP Public Power Promotion Award (Public Energy Week 2011)
  • 2012 AMP System Improvement Award (Hamilton substation/transmission infrastructure upgrade and Highland Park Project)
  • 2007 AMP System Improvement Award (Conventional vs. LED traffic signals)
  • 2007 AMP Transmission/Distribution Safety Award
  • 2004 AMP Innovation Award (Fiber optic infrastructure improvement)
  • 2004 AMP System Improvement Award (Underground cable life extension program)
  • 2002 American Municipal Power (AMP) System Improvement Award (Directionally bored underground primary conduit)